Skip Navigation Links
AGA Applauds Policy Guidance on Cyber Threat Information Sharing and Antitrust
Utilities Work With Congress to Continue Safe Delivery of Natural Gas
Thomas E. Skains, Piedmont Natural Gas, Receives AGA’s Distinguished Service Award


AGA Contacts:
Jennifer O’Shea, 202-824-7023
Jake Rubin, 202-824-7027

 John W. Somerhalder II, of AGL Resources, Elected 2011 Chairman Of AGA   

Other Officers, Board of Directors Elected


WASHINGTON, D.C. – John W. Somerhalder II, chairman, president and CEO of AGL Resources Inc. (AGL), today was elected to serve as chairman of the American Gas Association’s (AGA) board of directors for 2011.  Mr. Somerhalder was elected alongside several other officers during AGA’s annual corporate meeting in Chicago, IL.

“John’s background in engineering and state and regulatory issues, and his extensive energy industry knowledge will be invaluable to AGA in 2011,” said AGA President and CEO David Parker. “Throughout his career, John has been a true champion for natural gas, reinforcing how America’s natural gas customers are leaders in moving toward a more efficient energy future.”

AGL is an Atlanta-based energy services company that serves 2.3 million customers in six states.  The company operates six local natural gas distribution systems and two natural gas storage facilities. AGL markets natural gas through its wholesale and retail entities, Sequent Energy Management and SouthStar Energy Services.

Mr. Somerhalder was named president and chief executive officer of AGL in March 2006 and elected as chairman of company’s board of directors in November 2007.

Mr. Somerhalder joined AGL Resources from El Paso Corporation, where he spent almost 30 years with El Paso and its predecessor entities, rising through the ranks from engineer to president of El Paso Pipeline Group and executive vice president of El Paso Corporation.

Mr. Somerhalder also serves on the boards of the Gas Technology Institute, the Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce and the Georgia Chamber of Commerce.  He was elected director of Quicksilver Gas Services GP LLC in July 2007.  He has also served as past chairman of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America (INGAA) and the INGAA Foundation.

Reflecting AGL’s commitment to community service, Mr. Somerhalder was the chairman of the 2009 United Way Campaign of Metropolitan Atlanta and has committed to serve an unprecedented second term for the 2010 campaign.  Mr. Somerhalder also volunteers at the Habitat for Humanity, recently serving as project leader for five Habitat for Humanity homes built by AGL volunteers.

AGA’s other officers for 2011 will be:  First Vice Chairman Nick Stavropoulos, executive vice president and COO, U.S. Gas Distribution of National Grid (Waltham, MA); Second Vice Chairman Ronald W. Jibson, president and CEO, Questar Corp. (Salt Lake City, UT); Immediate Past Chairman Robert C. Skaggs, Jr., president and CEO of NiSource Inc. (Merrillville, IN).

AGA Board of Directors Elected
The following executives will serve on the AGA Board of Directors in 2011.  An asterisk (*) indicates those newly elected to three-year terms (Jan. 1, 2011 – Dec. 31, 2013), while the others continue their service.  Their names, titles, companies and corporate headquarters follow:

  • Michael W. Allman, president and CEO, Southern California Gas Co. (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Lawrence T. Borgard, president and COO, Utilities, Integrys Energy Group (Chicago, IL)*
  • Kevin Burke, chairman, president and CEO, Consolidated Edison, Inc. (New York, NY)
  • William N. Cantrell, president & CEO, SourceGas, LLC (Lakewood, CO)
  • Carl L. Chapman, president & CEO, Vectren Corp. (Evansville, IN)
  •  Scott A. Cisel, president and CEO, Ameren Illinois (Peoria, IL)
  • Kim R. Cocklin, president & CEO, Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas, TX)
  • Randall L. Crawford, SVP & president, midstream & commercial, EQT Corp. (Pittsburgh, PA)
  • Kenneth W. DeFontes, Jr., president and CEO, Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. (Baltimore, MD)
  • Benjamin G. Fowke, president and COO, Xcel Energy Inc. (Minneapolis, MN)
  • Michael I. German, president, CEO and director, Corning Natural Gas Corp. (Corning, NY)
  • Gordon L. Gillette, president, Tampa Electric and Peoples Gas (Tampa, FL)*
  • David L. Goodin, president and CEO, MDU Utilities Group. (Bismarck, ND)
  • Edward J. Graham, chairman, president & CEO, South Jersey Industries, Inc. (Folsom, NJ)*
  • William D. Harvey, chairman, president and CEO, Alliant Energy (Madison, WI)
  • Chris Hermann, senior vice president, energy delivery, E.ON U.S. (Louisville, KY)
  • Glenn R. Jennings, chairman, president and CEO, Delta Natural Gas Company, Inc. (Winchester, KY)
  • Gregg S. Kantor, president and CEO, NW Natural (Portland, OR)
  • Thomas E. Knudsen, president & CEO, Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia, PA)*
  • Ralph A. LaRossa, president and COO, Public Service Electric & Gas Co. (Newark, NJ)
  • Robert F. Martinovich, COO, ONEOK, Inc. (Tulsa, OK)
  • Terry D. McCallister, chairman and CEO, WGL Holdings, Inc. (Washington, DC)
  • David M. McClanahan, president and CEO, CenterPoint Energy (Houston, TX)
  • James T. McManus, II, chairman and CEO, Energen Corp. (Birmingham, AL)
  • Scott Morris, chairman, president and CEO, Avista Corp (Spokane, WA)
  • Jerry Norcia, president and COO, MichCon, DTE Energy (Detroit, MI)
  • Denis O’Brien, president and CEO, PECO Energy (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Rodney O. Powell, president & COO, Yankee Gas (Berlin, CT)*
  • Greg  S. Pruett, senior vice president, Corporate Relations, PG&E Corp.(San Francisco, CA)
  • Stephen P. Reynolds, CEO, Puget Energy (Bellevue, WA)
  • John G. Russell, president and CEO, CMS Energy Corp. (Jackson, MI)
  • George A. Schreiber, Jr., president & CEO, Continental Energy Systems LLC (Troy, MI)*
  • Jeffrey W. Shaw, chief executive officer, Southwest Gas Corp. (Las Vegas, NV)
  • Thomas E. Skains, chairman, president & CEO, Piedmont Natural Gas Co., Inc. (Charlotte, NC)
  • David F. Smith, chairman and CEO, National Fuel Gas Company (Williamsville, NY)
  • Russ M. Strobel, chairman, president and CEO, Nicor Inc. (Naperville, IL)
  • Gary Sypolt, CEO, Dominion Energy, Dominion Resources, Inc. (Richmond, VA)
  • John L. Walsh, president and COO, UGI Corp. (King of Prussia, PA)
  • Douglas H. Yaeger, chairman, president and CEO, The Laclede Group, Inc. (St. Louis, MO)

The ex-officio (not elected) director for 2011 will be:

  • Laurence M. Downes, chairman & CEO, New Jersey Resources (Wall, NJ)
# # #
The American Gas Association, founded in 1918, represents more than 200 local energy companies that deliver clean natural gas throughout the United States. There are more than 71 million residential, commercial and industrial natural gas customers in the U.S., of which 94 percent — over 68 million customers — receive their gas from AGA members. Today, natural gas meets almost one-fourth of the United States' energy needs.

Join the Energy Conversation