Skip Navigation Links
AGA Applauds Policy Guidance on Cyber Threat Information Sharing and Antitrust
Utilities Work With Congress to Continue Safe Delivery of Natural Gas
Thomas E. Skains, Piedmont Natural Gas, Receives AGA’s Distinguished Service Award


AGA Contacts:
Jennifer O’Shea, 202-824-7023
Jake Rubin, 202-824-7027

 NW Natural President & CEO Gregg S. Kantor Elected 2014 AGA Chairman   

Other Officers, Board of Directors Elected

Washington, D.C. – The American Gas Association (AGA) has announced that Gregg S. Kantor has been elected to serve as Chairman of the Board of Directors for 2014. Mr. Kantor is President and CEO of NW Natural, and was elected alongside several other officers during AGA’s Annual Corporate Meeting on Kiawah Island, S.C.

“With nearly two decades of leadership experience in the natural gas industry, Gregg’s commitment to his community and his background in environmental and urban planning make him uniquely suited to guide our organization as we continue to advance the role of natural gas in our nation’s clean and secure energy future,” said AGA President and CEO Dave McCurdy. “Gregg understands the need to engage all stakeholders and bring people together to foster a dialogue about how we can deliver solutions for our economy and our environment.”

NW Natural, headquartered in Portland, Oregon, provides natural gas service to approximately 689,000 residential, commercial and industrial customers in Oregon and Southwest Washington. It is the largest independent natural gas utility in the Pacific Northwest.
Mr. Kantor became President and CEO of NW Natural in 2009, having joined the company in 1996 as Director of Public Affairs and Communications and serving subsequently as Senior Vice President of Public and Regulatory Affairs from 2003-2006, Executive Vice President from 2006-2007 and President and COO from 2007-2008.

Mr. Kantor has been a board member of the American Gas Association since 2009. He is also on the boards of the Oregon Business Council, Greater Portland Inc., the Portland Business Alliance, and co-chairs the Cradle to Career Council of All Hands Raised. Mr. Kantor holds a Bachelor of Arts in Geography and Environmental Studies from the University of California at Santa Barbara, and a master’s degree in Urban Planning from the University of Oregon.

AGA’s other board officers for 2014 will be: First Vice Chairman Terry D. McCallister, Chairman & CEO, WGL Holdings, Inc. (Washington, D.C.); Second Vice Chairman Ralph A. LaRossa, President & COO, Public Service Electric & Gas Co. (Newark, N.J.); Dave McCurdy, President & CEO, AGA, and Immediate Past Chairman Ronald W. Jibson, Chairman, President & CEO, Questar Corp. (Salt Lake City, Utah).

AGA Board of Directors Elected
The following executives will serve on the AGA Board of Directors in 2014. An asterisk (*) indicates newly elected directors. Their names, titles, companies and corporate headquarters follow:

Kim R. Cocklin                        President & CEO, Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas, TX)
Kenneth W. DeFontes, Jr.        President & CEO, Baltimore Gas and Electric Co. (Baltimore, MD)
Laurence M. Downes               Chairman & CEO, New Jersey Resources (Wall, NJ)
David R. Emery                       Chairman, President & CEO, Black Hills Corp. (Rapid City, SD)
William J. Fehrman                  President & CEO, MidAmerican Energy Co. (Des Moines, IA)
Kimberly J. Harris                   President & CEO, Puget Sound Energy (Bellevue, WA)
Glenn R. Jennings                    Chairman, President & CEO, Delta Natural Gas Co., Inc. (Winchester, KY)
Christopher P. Johns                President, Pacific Gas and Electric Co. (San Francisco, CA)
Kent T. Larson                         SVP, Operations, Xcel Energy Inc. (Minneapolis, MN)
James P. Laurito                      President, Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. (Poughkeepsie, NY)*  
John McAvoy                          President & CEO (effective 1/1/2014), Consolidated Edison, Inc. (New York, NY)*
David M. McClanahan             President & CEO, CenterPoint Energy (Houston, TX)
James T. McManus, II             Chairman & CEO, Energen Corp. (Birmingham, AL)
Michael P. McMasters              President & CEO, Chesapeake Utilities Corp. (Dover, DE)*
Scott Miller                              Vice President & General Manager, Dominion East Ohio (Cleveland, OH)
K. Frank Morehouse                President & CEO, MDU Utilities Group (Bismarck, ND)
Scott L. Morris                         Chairman, President & CEO, Avista Corp. (Spokane, WA)
Jerry Norcia                             President & COO, DTE Gas Co., DTE Energy (Detroit, MI)
Pierce H. Norton, II                 EVP, Commercial, ONEOK, Inc. (Tulsa, OK)
Morgan K. O’Brien                  President & CEO, Peoples Natural Gas Co. LLC (Pittsburgh, PA)
Ian Robertson                          CEO, Algonquin Power & Utilities Corp. (Oakville, ON)*
John G. Russell                        President & CEO, CMS Energy Corp. (Jackson, MI)
Jeffrey W. Shaw                      President & CEO, Southwest Gas Corp. (Las Vegas, NV)
Suzanne Sitherwood                President & CEO, The Laclede Group, Inc. (St. Louis, MO)
Robert C. Skaggs, Jr.                President & CEO, NiSource Inc. (Merrillville, IN)
Thomas E. Skains                    Chairman, President & CEO, Piedmont Natural Gas Co., Inc. (Charlotte, NC)
Anne Shen Smith                     Chairman & CEO, Southern California Gas Co. (Los Angeles, CA)
David F. Smith                         Executive Chairman, National Fuel Gas Co. (Williamsville, NY)
John W. Somerhalder II           Chairman, President & CEO, AGL Resources (Atlanta, GA) 
James P. Torgerson                  President & CEO, UIL Holdings (New Haven, CT)

Non-voting Advisory Directors:
Julie A. Dill                             President & CEO, Spectra Energy Partners and Group Vice President, Strategy Spectra Energy (Houston, TX)  
Gordon L. Gillette                    President, Tampa Electric Co. & Peoples Gas (Tampa, FL)
Patricia L. Kampling                Chairman, President & CEO, Alliant Energy (Madison, WI)
Rodney O. Powell                    President & COO, Yankee Gas (Berlin, CT)
Craig E. White                         President & CEO, Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia, PA)

# # #
The American Gas Association, founded in 1918, represents more than 200 local energy companies that deliver clean natural gas throughout the United States. There are more than 71 million residential, commercial and industrial natural gas customers in the U.S., of which 94 percent — over 68 million customers — receive their gas from AGA members. Today, natural gas meets almost one-fourth of the United States' energy needs.

Join the Energy Conversation