Skip Navigation Links
AGA Statement on NTSB’s Pipeline Safety Recommendations
AGA Chairman Somerhalder Speaks to New York Society of Security Analysts
AGA Statement on the Announcement that “Gasland” has been Nominated for an Oscar
President Obama Recognizes Role of Natural Gas in Clean Energy Future
AGA Commends Senators’ Introduction of Pipeline Safety Bill
New Report Finds Natural Gas Critical to a Smart Energy Future
AGA Distressed with Proposed LIHEAP Cuts
Dave McCurdy Elected President and CEO of AGA
Safety Remains Top Priority for Natural Gas Industry
AGA Hails State Utility Commissioners for Support of LIHEAP
Congress, Please Don’t Shut off the Heat
AGA Provides Industry Perspective at NTSB Hearing on San Bruno Incident
Abundant Natural Gas Supply Hits Home for Consumers
Natural Gas Costs Less, Says DOE
Task Force Finds Potential for Increased Natural Gas Price Stability
AGA Statement on President Obama’s Support of Clean Natural Gas as a Key Component of America’s Energy Security
“Call Before You Dig” in April and all Year Long
AGA Supports Secretary LaHood’s Call for Continued Focus on Pipeline Safety
AGA Applauds Introduction of the NAT GAS Act of 2011
AGA Statement regarding the crucial role of clean, domestic and efficient natural gas in our energy future
AGA Participates in U.S. Department of Transportation Pipeline Safety Forum
New Report Details Increases in Natural Gas Supply in U.S.
Natural Gas Reduces Greenhouse Gas Emissions
ANGA, AGA to Jointly Promote Natural Gas Vehicles, Infrastructure
AGA Commends U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation on Passage of Pipeline Safety Bill
AGA Supports Bipartisan Energy Legislation
AGA Recognizes Industry Leaders in Employee Safety
Lawrence Borgard, of Integrys Energy Group, Elected First Vice Chairman of AGA Board of Directors
AGA Releases 2011 FERC Manual for Natural Gas Utilities
AGA Unveils Responsible Natural Gas Resource Development Principles
AGA Testifies at U.S. House of Representatives Pipeline Safety Oversight Hearing
AGA Releases Inaugural Natural Gas Playbook
AGA Commends U.S. House Subcommittee on Energy and Power on Passage of Pipeline Safety Bill
Members of the Natural Gas and Oil Industry Announce New Effort to Improve Pipeline System Safety
AGA Comments on the U.S. Energy Secretary’s Shale Gas Production Subcommittee Report
AGA Commends DOE’s Full-Fuel-Cycle Adoption
AGA Commends PHMSA on Pipeline Safety Efforts
AGA Comments on NTSB’s Pipeline Safety Recommendations
AGA Comments on U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Position on Jobs Creation
AGA Welcomes New VP of Federal Affairs Luis Luna
AGA Applauds Bipartisan Pipeline Safety Bill
Natural Gas Council’s Statement and Recommendations on President Obama’s Job Plan
American Gas Foundation Study: Renewable Gas
AGA Urges Policy Makers to Endorse Recommendations of National Petroleum Council
AGA Urges Congress to Keep LIHEAP a Priority
AGA Commends House Committee Bipartisan Passage Of Pipeline Safety Bill
AGA & Multi-Industry Coalition Send Letter to Super Committee
AGA Submits Comments Reaffirming Support of the NAT GAS Act
AGA to Host 2018 World Gas Conference in Washington, D.C.
AGA Says Reliable and Stable Prices for Consumers This Winter
AGA Applauds U.S. Senate for Bipartisan Passage of Pipeline Safety Bill
AGA’s Distinguished Service Award to Douglas H. Yaeger of The Laclede Group
Lawrence T. Borgard, of Integrys Energy Group, Elected 2012 Chairman of AGA
AGA Releases Commitment to Enhancing Safety
Secretary LaHood Thanks AGA for Leading Industry Collaboration on Safety
AGA Comments on Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, Natural Gas Subcommittee Final Report
AGA Incoming Chairman, Lawrence T. Borgard, Natural Gas Has Opportunities and Challenges in 2012
Natural Gas Utilities Helped Customers Save $62 Per Household Last Year
AGA Applauds Passage Of Bipartisan House Pipeline Safety Bill
LIHEAP Preventing Families From Being Left Out In The Cold
AGA Commends Senate for Swift Passage of Pipeline Safety Bill
Natural Gas Council Statement on NERC Natural Gas-Electric Interdependency Assessment
AGA Applauds Policy Guidance on Cyber Threat Information Sharing and Antitrust
Utilities Work With Congress to Continue Safe Delivery of Natural Gas
Thomas E. Skains, Piedmont Natural Gas, Receives AGA’s Distinguished Service Award


AGA Contacts:
Jennifer O’Shea, 202-824-7023
Jake Rubin, 202-824-7027

 AGA’s Distinguished Service Award to Douglas H. Yaeger of The Laclede Group   

Washington, D.C. – The American Gas Association (AGA) awards the Distinguished Service award to Douglas H. Yaeger, chairman of the board and CEO of The Laclede Group, Inc., the parent company of Laclede Gas Company. Until September 1, 2011, he also served as president of the organization. Mr. Yaeger received this honor during the AGA annual executive conference in San Diego, CA on Monday, October 17, 2011.

“Doug has had a renowned career as a leader in the energy sector; the kind of career that few achieve and all admire,” said Dave McCurdy, president and CEO, AGA. “It is in an honor to bestow this award to Doug as a token of recognition and sincere thanks for all of his dedication to AGA and accomplishments within our industry.”

Mr. Yaeger joined Laclede in 1990 as Vice President – Planning after spending nearly 20 years in the interstate gas pipeline industry (including service as Executive Vice President of Mississippi River Transmission Corporation, Laclede’s principal pipeline supplier, and Executive Vice President of Arkla Energy Marketing Company).  He was elected Laclede’s Senior Vice President – Operations, Gas Supply and Technical Services in 1992, a Senior Vice President in 1994, and Executive Vice President – Operations and Marketing in 1995.  In 1997, he was elected President and Chief Operating Officer and joined the Company’s Board of Directors.  He was elected Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board in January 1999. Mr. Yaeger was named chairman, president and CEO of The Laclede Group, Inc. at its inception in October 2001.

Mr. Yaeger has been a member of the AGA Board of Directors since 2001 and has served on more than 10 other committees for AGA. In addition, he serves on the board and is past chair of the Missouri Energy Development Association, Southern Gas Association, and United Way of Greater St. Louis. Mr. Yaeger currently serves on the boards of Barnes-Jewish Hospital, First Banks, Inc., Greater St. Louis, Inc., Innovate St. Louis, The Municipal Theatre Association of St. Louis, the St. Louis Regional Chamber and Growth Association, and the St. Louis Science Center board of commissioners. He is a member and past president of Civic Progress.

Mr. Yaeger, a native of St. Louis (Webster Groves), holds an M.B.A. degree from Saint Louis University and a B.S. degree in marketing from Miami University in Ohio. He also completed the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School.
# # #
The American Gas Association, founded in 1918, represents more than 200 local energy companies that deliver clean natural gas throughout the United States. There are more than 71 million residential, commercial and industrial natural gas customers in the U.S., of which 94 percent — over 68 million customers — receive their gas from AGA members. Today, natural gas meets almost one-fourth of the United States' energy needs.

Join the Energy Conversation