

# **2021 Awards Review**



#### GILD OF ANCIENT SUPPLERS AWARD



# MILTON W. HEATH SR. MEMORIAL AWARD

## **JEFF KNIGHTS**

Jeff Knights, AGA Operations Section Chair and SVP, Technical & Operating Services -Mid-Texas Division with Atmos Energy, is honored with this year's Gild of Ancient Supplers Award for his exceptional leadership and service to AGA and the natural gas industry.

The Gild of Ancient Supplers will donate in Mr. Knights' name to No Kid Hungry.

## **DOUG MARTIN**

The Milton W. Heath Sr. Memorial Award, sponsored by Heath Consultants, recognizes Doug Martin of Northwest Natural for being a leader in the natural gas industry in leak detection, prevention, and repair.

Martin is being recognized for his dedication and early adoption of utilizing remote laser technology in leakage surveys which has significantly improved the safety of NW Natural's customers and communities. Martin has also played an integral role in the development of enhanced training given to Northwest Natural's First Responders in understanding gas migration and how to mitigate migration using ventilation techniques.



## AGA MERITORIOUS SERVICE AWARD



JOHN B. MCGOWAN SR. RESEARCH AWARD

## LARRY SHAFER, SHAWN PITCHER, DANA PRESTO, MELISSA MCKINNEY, CHRIS WADE, LARRY MCDONALD, DONALD TRABUCCO AND GARY CLARK

Every year, the AGA Meritorious Service Award is presented to individuals who have performed the worthiest act in the gas industry in saving a human life during the prior calendar year. This year, Larry Shafer, Shawn Pitcher, Dana Presto, Melissa McKinney, Chris Wade, Larry McDonald, Donald Trabucco and Gary Clark from Central Hudson Gas & Electric have been chosen as the winners for <u>showing bravery and compassion in the protection of human life</u>.

## **CARRIE BERARD**

The John B. McGowan, Sr. Research Award, sponsored by Hubbell/GasBreaker, has been presented to Carrie Berard. Berard is being recognized for her work in innovative R&D projects including: GasComm <sup>™</sup> real time sensing network for steel pipe, LocusView tracking and tracing technology, use of small unmanned aerial systems (drones) for inspection of LDC assets and pilot testing of Residential Methane Detectors (RMDs).



# SAFETY AWARENESS VIDEO EXCELLENCE AWARDS

The AGA Safety Awareness Video Excellence (SAVE) Award recognizes the outstanding contributors to natural gas communications safety and education. The winners are issued for two categories:

- Internal audience video created specifically for staff training, awareness or education
- External audience public communications video created specifically to educate the general public about natural gas safety.

The 2021 award recipient of the external video category is DTE Energy for their submission, "Natural gas safety with Nora."

We also recognize UGI Utilities, Inc. for their winning submission for the internal category with "Slips, Trips & Falls."

Finding effective ways to spread safety messages will always be of critical importance and we applaud all that our members do to share safety messages. We want to thank all of the utilities who participated in this year's competition.



### SAFETY ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

The following AGA member companies have earned Safety Achievement Awards for their outstanding commitment to employee and vehicular safety in 2020. The selection was based upon the companies that submitted their annual safety statistical data for calendar year 2020, based upon OSHA Recordable Injuries and Illnesses and Reportable Vehicle Incidents.



## **Employee Safety**

#### Local Distribution Company

- Small
  - Aspire Energy
  - Appalachian Natural Gas
  - Greater Minnesota Gas
  - City of Wilson Utilities
    Department
  - Union Oil & Gas Company, Inc.
- Medium-Small
  - UNS Gas Inc.
- Medium-Large
  - Dominion Energy South Carolina
- Large
  - SEMCO Energy
- Very Large
  - Dominion Energy Ohio
  - Comgás

- Mega
  - DTE Gas Company
  - ONE Gas, Inc.
- **Combination Utility**
- Small
  - Gainesville Regional Utilities
- Medium
  - NV Energy Inc.
- Large
  - Puget Sound Energy

#### **Transmission Company**

- Medium
  - BHE-GT&S Carolina Gas Transmission
  - DOW Pipeline Company
- Large
  - BHE-GT&S Eastern Gas Transmission & Storage



## Vehicular Safety

- Local Distribution Company
  - Berkshire Gas Company
- Combination Utility
  - MidAmerican Energy Company
- Transmission Company
  - BHE-GT&S Carolina Gas Transmission
- Small Member Companies
  - Greater Minnesota Gas Inc.



## **AWARD OF MERIT**

The individuals listed have earned AGA Awards of Merit for their active and continuous service to the AGA Operations Section through participation on technical committees, as well as leadership in AGA events. The awards are based on a cumulative point system.

#### Lifetime Achievement Award (150 + Pts)

• John R. Lansing, RMG Americas, Inc.

#### Platinum Award of Merit (100 Pts)

- Charles D. Dolezel, CenterPoint Energy
- Parashar N. Sheth, PE, National Grid

#### Gold Award of Merit (75 Pts)

- Robert N. Gardner, Spire Inc.
- John P. Hoch, Standby Systems, Inc.
- Gregory L. Jones, Southern Company Gas
- William F. Marshall, PE, Mears Group, Inc.

#### Silver Award of Merit (50 Pts)

- Andrew P. Bauer, NW Natural
- John Bozarth, Ameren Illinois
- Patrick J. Donnelly, NiSource Inc.
- Geoffrey R. Ford, PE, CenterPoint Energy
- James M. Francis, CenterPoint Energy
- Peter E. Harley, National Grid
- Kathleen Judge, National Grid
- Shawn Khoshaien, Enbridge Gas Inc.
- Scott A. Kranstuber, Sensit Technologies
- Jennifer L. Rose, Southern Company Gas
- Jeff Webb, PE, Avista

#### Bronze Award of Merit (25 Pts)

- Alfred R. Musgrove, Pacific Gas and Electric Company
- Chad Fritsch, Duke Energy Corporation

- Charles Graham, Peoples Gas
- Ed Cooper, CenterPoint Energy
- Edward B. Marchionne, Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.
- Eric Martuscelli, MDU Utilities Group
- Jeffrey S. Knights, Atmos Energy Corporation
- John A. Hill, Jr., Black Hills Energy
- John Betsch, Duke Energy Corporation
- Jon Fickinger, Itron, Inc.
- Kyle Slaughter, Atmos Energy Corporation
- Landon Haack, ONE Gas, Inc.
- Paul Puckett, LG&E-KU, PPL Companies
- Randy Wilson, Spire Inc.
- Ray Gardner, Xcel Energy Inc.
- · Raymond J. Welte, Philadelphia Gas Works
- Scott Crider, Southern Company Gas
- Thomas Riviello, Consolidated Edison, Inc.
- Troy W. Nutter, Puget Sound Energy
- Wade Hardy, Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. (Retired)
- Amy Kapuga, Consumers Energy Company
- Deanna Haines, Southern California Gas Company
- · Jean M. Harrison, Southern Company Gas
- Jenni DeGreeff, New Mexico Gas Company
- Jenny Hudson, EN Engineering
- Maureen Turman, NiSource Inc.
- Randall Rogers, Kerotest Manufacturing Corp.