Kimberly J. Harris, Puget Sound Energy President & CEO Elected AGA Chair for 2018

News Release October 03, 2017

Washington, D.C.— The American Gas Association (AGA) has announced that Kimberly J. Harris has been elected to serve as Chair of its Board of Directors for 2018. Harris is the President & CEO of Puget Sound Energy which serves more than 1.5 million customers across 10 counties in Washington state.

“It is an incredible honor to lead this organization at a time when natural gas is shaping our nation’s future and changing the way we think about environmental protection, economic prosperity and national security,” Harris said. “We have an opportunity, as companies that deliver essential energy to our customers and our communities, to provide solutions and improve lives. I look forward to leading that conversation.”

Kimberly Harris was named president of Puget Sound Energy, Washington state’s largest utility, in 2010 and chief executive in 2011. Prior to her current role, Harris was chief resources officer at the company. She practiced law with Perkins Coie before joining PSE in 1999.

Harris serves on the board of directors of the Washington Roundtable. She was the 2016-2017 campaign chair for the United Way of King County. In October 2014, she joined the U.S. Bancorp Board of Directors. Harris has a bachelor's degree from San Diego State University and a juris doctor degree from Arizona State University.

“2018 is an exciting year for the American Gas Association as we celebrate our 100-year anniversary and host the World Gas Conference in Washington, DC in June. Kimberly is the perfect leader to guide us into our next century of advocacy on behalf of natural gas utilities,” said Dave McCurdy, president and CEO of AGA.

AGA’s other board officers for 2018 will include: First Vice Chair Joseph Hamrock, President & CEO of NiSource Inc. based in Columbus, OH and Second Vice Chair Scott M. Prochazka, President & CEO of CenterPoint Energy based in Houston, TX. Pierce H. Norton, II, President & CEO, ONE Gas, Inc. based in Tulsa, OK who has served as Chair for 2017 will become Immediate Past Chair when Harris’ term begins on January 1, 2018.

In addition, the following executives will serve on the AGA Board of Directors in 2018:

Craig L. Adams            President & CEO, PECO, An Exelon Co. (Philadelphia, PA)
Frank Almaraz             SVP, Corp. Strategy & Commercial Operations, CPS Energy (San Antonio, TX)
David H. Anderson       President & CEO, NW Natural (Portland, OR)
Robert F. Beard            President & CEO, UGI Utilities, Inc. (Reading, PA)
Lonnie E. Bellar           Senior Vice President, Operations, LG&E-KU, PPL Companies (Louisville, KY)
Carl L. Chapman          Chairman, President & CEO, Vectren Corp. (Evansville, IN)
John S. D'Orazio          President & CEO, RGC Resources, Inc. (Roanoke, VA)
David M. Daly             President & COO, Public Service Electric and Gas Co. (Newark, NJ)
Laurence M. Downes    Chairman & CEO, New Jersey Resources (Wall, NJ)*
David R. Emery            Chairman & CEO, Black Hills Corp.(Rapid City, SD)
Andrew Evans              Chair, President & CEO, Southern Company Gas (Atlanta, GA)
William J. Fehrman      President & CEO, MidAmerican Energy Co. (Des Moines, IA)
Kevin Fletcher             President, We Energies & WPS, WEC Energy Group (Milwaukee, WI)
D. Russell Harris          Senior VP, SCANA Corp. (Cayce, SC)
Michael E. Haefner       President & COO, Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas, TX)
Jeffrey Harrison            President & CEO, Citizens Energy Group (Indianapolis, IN)
John P. Hester              President & CEO, Southwest Holdings, Inc. (Las Vegas, NV)
Glenn R. Jennings        Chairman, President & CEO, Delta Natural Gas Co., Inc. (Winchester, KY)
Nicole A. Kivisto         President & CEO, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. (Bismarck, ND)
J. Bret Lane                  President & COO, Southern California Gas Co. (Los Angeles, CA)
Kent T. Larson             EVP & Group President, Operations, Xcel Energy Inc. (Minneapolis, MN)
Ralph A. LaRossa         President and COO, PSEG Power (Newark, NJ)*
James P. Laurito           EVP, Business Development, Fortis Inc. (St. Johns, NL)  
Diane Leopold             EVP, President & CEO – Gas Infrastructure, Dominion Energy, Inc. (Richmond, VA)
John McAvoy              Chairman, President & CEO, Consolidated Edison, Inc. (New York, NY)
Terry D. McCallister     Chairman & CEO, WGL Holdings, Inc. (Washington, DC)
Michael P. McMasters  President & CEO, Chesapeake Utilities Corp. (Dover, DE)
Jerry Norcia                 President & COO, DTE Energy (Detroit, MI)
Morgan K. O’Brien      President & CEO, Peoples Natural Gas (Pittsburgh, PA)
Patricia K. Poppe          President & CEO, CMS Energy Corp. (Jackson, MI)
David Robbins, Jr.        President, South Jersey Gas Co. (Folsom, NJ)
Ian Robertson               CEO, Algonquin Power & Utilities Corp. (Oakville, ON)
Robert C. Rowe            President & CEO, NorthWestern Energy (Sioux Falls, SD)
Suzanne Sitherwood     President & CEO, Spire Inc. (St. Louis, MO)
Nick Stavropoulos        President & COO, Pacific Gas and Electric Co. (San Francisco, CA)
James P. Torgerson       CEO, AVANGRID Inc. (New Haven, CT)
Ross W. Turrini            SVP, Gas Process & Engineering, National Grid (Melville, NY)
Dennis Vermillion        President, Avista Utilities (Spokane, WA)
Charles S. Warrington  Managing Director & Executive Officer, Clearwater Gas System (Clearwater, FL)
Craig E. White              President & CEO, Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia, PA)
Franklin H. Yoho         EVP & President, Natural Gas Business, Duke Energy Corp. (Charlotte, NC)

* Ex officio

Advisory Directors:

William J. Akley          President, Gas Operations, Eversource Energy (Berlin, CT)
Gordon L. Gillette        President, Tampa Electric and Peoples Gas (Tampa, FL)
Patricia L. Kampling     Chairman, President & CEO, Alliant Energy Corp. (Madison, WI)
Richard J. Mark            Chairman & President, Ameren Illinois (Collinsville, IL)
Ronald J. Tanski           President & CEO, National Fuel Gas Co. (Williamsville, NY)

The American Gas Association, founded in 1918, represents more than 200 local energy companies that deliver clean natural gas throughout the United States. There are more than 73 million residential, commercial and industrial natural gas customers in the U.S., of which 95 percent — more than 69 million customers — receive their gas from AGA members. Today, natural gas meets more than one-fourth of the United States' energy needs.