David Anderson, NW Natural, to Lead as AGA Chair

News Release October 14, 2020

Washington D.C. – David H. Anderson, President & CEO of NW Natural in Portland, OR, will Chair the American Gas Association (AGA) Board of Directors in 2021. The Board voted unanimously during a virtual meeting earlier today.

 “I am humbled by the opportunity to lead the American Gas Association and be a voice for our 180 million customers nationwide in the conversation about affordable, reliable energy,” Anderson said. “In the year ahead, natural gas will continue to play an essential role for families and businesses recovering from the economic devastation wrought by COVID, providing the energy folks need and expect, while also helping us achieve our shared goal of lower emissions and a clean energy future.”

 NW Natural is a local distribution company that currently provides natural gas service to approximately 2.5 million people in more than 140 communities through more than 770,000 meters in Oregon and Southwest Washington.

 Anderson joined NW Natural, a subsidiary of NW Natural Holding Company (NYSE: NWN), in 2004 and served in a number of leadership positions before becoming President and Chief Executive Officer in 2016. He previously held executive positions within TXU Corporation (formerly Texas Utilities). Anderson is a member of AGA’s Executive Committee, past co-chair of the Clean Energy Task Force and past Chair of the Audit Committee. He is also a member of the AGA Compensation Committee, Finance Committee and Board Safety Committee. He is Director of the Oregon Business Council, a member of SOLVE Founders’ Circle, and has been appointed to serve on Oregon’s Global Warming Commission.

 “We are incredibly excited to welcome David as AGA’s 2021 chair as he brings his depth of knowledge, strategic vision and a proven track record of successful leadership in our industry,” said AGA CEO Karen Harbert. “These next few years will be crucial as our customer base expands, safety initiatives grow and technological innovation continues to drive down emissions. We are also extremely grateful for the leadership of the Immediate Past Chair, Diane Leopold, who has positioned us comfortably for these growth opportunities. I look forward to working with David and the rest of the AGA Board to raise the voice of natural gas in this country, and I am eager to continue this work on the quest  to achieve the clean energy future we are all working towards.”

 AGA’s other board officers for 2021 will include: First Vice Chair Kim Greene, President & CEO, Southern Company Gas (Atlanta, GA) and Second Vice Chair Suzanne Sitherwood, President & CEO, Spire Inc. (St. Louis, MO). Diane Leopold, EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Dominion Energy (Richmond, VA) who has served as Chair for 2020 will become Immediate Past Chair when Anderson’s term begins on January 1, 2021.

The following executives will serve on the AGA Board of Directors in 2021:

Kurt Adams                      

President & CEO, Summit Utilities, Inc. (Portland, ME) 

Kevin Akers                     

President & CEO, Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas, TX) 

William J. Akley

President, Gas Operations, Eversource Energy (Berlin, CT) 

Frank Almaraz 

Chief Administrative & Business Development Officer, CPS Energy (San Antonio, TX)

David H. Anderson        

President & CEO, NW Natural (Portland, OR) 

Arun Banskota

President & CEO, Algonquin Power & Utilities Corp. (Oakville, ON) 

David P. Bauer

President & CEO, National Fuel Gas Co. (Williamsville, NY) 

Robert F. Beard

President & CEO, UGI Utilities, Inc. (Reading, PA) 

Lonnie E. Bellar

COO, LG&E-KU, PPL Companies (Louisville, KY) 

Timothy P. Cawley                

President, Consolidated Edison, Inc. (New York, NY) 

David M. Daly                

President & COO, Public Service Electric and Gas Co. (Newark, NJ)

Scott E. Doyle

EVP, Natural Gas Distribution, CenterPoint energy Inc. (Houston, TX)

Scott D. Drury                     

CEO, Southern California Gas Co. (Los Angeles, CA) 

Linden Evans                  

President & CEO, Black Hills Corp. (Rapid City, SD) 

Robert Frenzel                

President & COO, Xcel Energy Inc. (Minneapolis, MN) 

Kimberly S. Greene             

Chair, President & CEO, Southern Company Gas (Atlanta, GA)

Joseph Hamrock              

President & CEO, NiSource Inc. (Columbus, OH) 

Karen A. Harbert           

President & CEO, American Gas Association (Washington, D.C.)   

Jeffrey Harrison 

President & CEO, Citizens Energy Group (Indianapolis, IN)

John P. Hester                 

President & CEO, Southwest Gas Holdings, Inc. (Las Vegas, NV) 

Jeffry M. Householder

President & CEO, Chesapeake Utilities Corp. (Dover, DE) 

Michael Huwar

President, Peoples, An Essential Utilities Co. (Pittsburgh, PA)

Michael Innocenzo          

President & CEO, PECO, An Exelon Co. (Philadelphia, PA) 

Blue Jenkins             

President, Washington Gas (Washington, D.C.)    

Mary Kipp

President & CEO, Puget Sound Energy (Seattle, WA)

Nicole A. Kivisto

President & CEO, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. (Bismarck, ND) 

Sue Kristjansson             

President & CEO, Oak Ridge Utility District (Oak Ridge, TN) 

James P. Laurito

EVP, Business Development, Fortis Inc. (St. Johns, NL) 

Diane Leopold                 

EVP and Chief Operating Officer, Dominion Energy (Richmond, VA)

Richard J. Mark

Chairman & President, Ameren Illinois (Collinsville, IL) 

Charles Matthews                 

President & CEO, WEC Energy Group – Peoples Gas & North Shore Gas (Chicago, IL) 

Paul W. Nester

President & CEO, RGC Resources, Inc. (Roanoke, VA) 

Jerry Norcia                     

President & CEO, DTE Energy (Detroit, MI)    

Pierce H. Norton II        

President & CEO, ONE Gas, Inc. (Tulsa, OK) 

Patricia K. Poppe            

President & CEO, CMS Energy Corp. (Jackson, MI)   

Robert C. Rowe

President & CEO, NorthWestern Energy (Sioux Falls, SD) 

Suzanne Sitherwood        

President & CEO, Spire Inc. (St. Louis, MO) 

T.J. Szelistowski             

President Peoples Gas System, TECO Energy (Tampa, FL) 

Ross W. Turrini

SVP, US Gas Engineering and Process, National Grid (Melville, NY)

Dennis P. Vermillion

President & CEO, Avista Corp. (Spokane, WA)  

Charles S. Warrington    

Executive Director, Clearwater Gas System (Clearwater, FL) 

Sasha Weintraub              

SVP, Natural Gas Business, Duke Energy Corp. (Charlotte, NC) 

Stephen Westhoven        

President & CEO, New Jersey Resources (Wall, NJ) 

Craig E. White

President & CEO, Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia, PA) 

Adam L. Wright

President & CEO, MidAmerican Energy Co. (Des Moines, IA)

# # #

The American Gas Association, founded in 1918, represents more than 200 local energy companies that deliver clean natural gas throughout the United States. There are more than 76 million residential, commercial and industrial natural gas customers in the U.S., of which 95 percent — more than 73 million customers — receive their gas from AGA members. Today, natural gas meets more than thirty percent of the United States' energy needs.