Kimberly Greene of Southern Company Gas Elected Chair of AGA Board of Directors

Kimberly Greene of Southern Company Gas Elected Chair of AGA Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. – The American Gas Association (AGA) Board of Directors has elected Kimberly S. Greene, Chairman, President and CEO of Southern Company Gas in Atlanta, GA to be Chair of the Board for 2022.

“Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, America’s natural gas utilities have continuously served our customers, ensuring families and businesses have the energy they need when they need it most,” said Greene. “We have never stopped working, and as our economy begins to rebound, the dedicated employees across the natural gas industry will continue to serve the nation, reducing emissions and providing Americans with a clean, safe, reliable, affordable energy source. I firmly believe that the most practical, realistic way to achieve a sustainable energy future is to ensure it includes natural gas and the infrastructure that transports it, which is why I am excited to lead this organization at this critical time.”

Southern Company Gas safely and reliably delivers natural gas to more than 4.3 million utility customers in Georgia, Illinois, Tennessee and Virginia. Greene serves as an Oil & Natural Gas Liaison Co-Lead for the Electric Subsector Coordinating Council, which is the principal liaison between federal government and the energy sector on security issues. Additionally, she serves on the boards of directors of Valero Energy Corporation, Gas Technology Institute and Morehouse School of Medicine. Previously, she served on the board of directors of the Electric Power Research Institute for eight years, including one year as Chair.  

Greene is a distinguished member of the Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame and a recipient of the University of Tennessee’s Distinguished Alumna Award.  She earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering science and mechanics from the University of Tennessee, a master’s degree in biomedical engineering from the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and a master’s degree in business administration from Samford University in Birmingham, Ala. She also completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.

“Kim’s leadership at Southern Company Gas has been extraordinary and her significant expertise and experience is invaluable to the AGA Board,” said AGA President and CEO Karen Harbert. “I look forward to her continued leadership in 2022 and beyond.”

AGA’s other board officers for 2022 will include: First Vice Chair Suzanne Sitherwood, President and CEO of Spire Inc. based in St. Louis, MO and Second Vice Chair Jerry Norcia, President and CEO of DTE Energy based in Detroit, MI. David H. Anderson, President and CEO of NW Natural in Portland, OR will become Immediate Past Chair on January 1, 2022 at the beginning of Greene’s term.

The following executives will serve on the AGA Board of Directors in 2022:

Kevin Akers                     President & CEO, Atmos Energy Corp. (Dallas, TX)
Timothy P. Cawley           Chairman, President & CEO, Consolidated Edison, Inc. (New York, NY)
Scott E. Doyle                  EVP, Natural Gas Distribution, CenterPoint Energy Inc. (Houston, TX)
Scott D. Drury                  CEO, Southern California Gas Co. (Los Angeles, CA)
Robert Frenzel                  President & CEO, Xcel Energy Inc. (Minneapolis, MN)
Joseph Hamrock               President & CEO, NiSource Inc. (Columbus, OH)
Kim Hanemann                 President & COO, Public Service Electric and Gas Co. (Newark, NJ)
John P. Hester                   President & CEO, Southwest Gas Holdings, Inc. (Las Vegas, NV)
Michael Innocenzo           President & CEO, PECO, An Exelon Co. (Philadelphia, PA)
Blue Jenkins                     President, Washington Gas (Washington, D.C.)
Badar Khan                       President, National Grid US (Waltham, MA)
Diane Leopold                  EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Dominion Energy (Richmond, VA)
Charles Matthews             President & CEO, WEC Energy – Peoples Gas & North Shore Gas (Chicago, IL)
Sid McAnnally                  President & CEO, ONE Gas, Inc. (Tulsa, OK)
Patricia K. Poppe               CEO, Pacific Gas and Electric Corp. (San Francisco, CA)
Franklyn D. Reynolds       President, UIL Holdings, AVANGRID, Inc. (Orange, CT)
Garrick J. Rochow            President & CEO, CMS Energy Corp. (Jackson, MI)
Sasha Weintraub               Sr. Vice President, Natural Gas Business, Duke Energy Corp. (Charlotte, NC)
Kurt Adams                      President & CEO, Summit Utilities, Inc. (Portland, ME)
Nicole A. Kivisto             President & CEO, Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. (Bismarck, ND)
Melissa Orsen                   President, SJI Utilities (Folsom, NJ)
Ryan A. Shell                   President, New Mexico Gas Co. (Albuquerque, NM)
Frank Almaraz                  Chief Power, Sustainability & Business Development Officer, CPS Energy (San Antonio, TX)
Arun Banskota                  President & CEO, Algonquin Power & Utilities Corp. (Oakville, ON)
Kelcey A. Brown               President & CEO, MidAmerican Energy Co. (Des Moines, IA)
Jeffrey A. Harrison           President & CEO, Citizens Energy Group (Indianapolis, IN)
Michael Huwar                 President, Peoples, An Essential Utilities Co. (Pittsburgh, PA)
Dennis P. Vermillion         President & CEO, Avista Corp. (Spokane, WA)
Robert F. Beard                 CEO, UGI Utilities, Inc. (Reading, PA)
Lonnie E. Bellar                COO, LG&E-KU, PPL Companies (Louisville, KY)
Linden Evans                    President & CEO, Black Hills Corp. (Rapid City, SD)
Jeffry M. Householder      President & CEO, Chesapeake Utilities Corp. (Dover, DE)
Mary Kipp                        President & CEO, Puget Sound Energy (Seattle, WA)
Robert C. Rowe                 CEO, NorthWestern Energy (Sioux Falls, SD)
Seth Shapiro                     EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Philadelphia Gas Works (Philadelphia, PA)
Stephen Westhoven          President & CEO, New Jersey Resources (Wall, NJ)